Skip to main content

ESRF User Organisation

The User Organisation Committee (UOC)

Call for nomination of 3 new members representing the following scientific communities:
 * "X-ray nanoprobe & imaging"                  
* "Electronic structure and magnetism"
* "Surfaces and interfaces"                     

Open until 15th October!                      

Each nomination must include a few lines motivating the candidature, a short CV or profile, and the scientific area of nomination, and be sent via Email.


As from November 2020 (three members (*) elected by their respective user communities in November 2020):

Guillaume Morard

        2020-10-14_MORARD G.jpg (Guillaume MORARD)

Dynamics & Extreme Conditions

X-ray diffraction, nuclear inelastic X-ray scattering, nuclear resonance scattering, X-ray absorption spectroscopy (time resolved), X-ray magnetic circular dichroism, X-ray Emission Spectroscopy, Diamond Anvil Cell (laser heating, cryo-cooled, resistive heating), large volume press, laser-shock compression.

Barbara Fayard *

Brabara Fayard


Industry R&D, advanced characterization, collaboration and partnerships with industry, standardised and high-throughout approaches, support to strategic European industry missions.

Karsten Küpper


Electronic Structure & Magnetism

X-ray absorption and emission spectroscopy (XAS-XES), inelastic scattering, soft X-ray spectroscopy

Alberto Martinelli *


Structure of Materials

Solid-state chemistry, catalysis, materials for energy and technology using diffraction techniques, total scattering and PDF analysis, time and spatial-resolved diffraction, in-situ and operando diffraction experiments.

Adriana Miele *

2020-11-24_MIELE A.jpg

Structural Biology

X-ray crystallography, Cryo-EM, SAXS


Guillermo Requena


X-ray Nanoprobe & Imaging

Tomography, CDI, ptychography, phase contrast imaging, nanofocus diffraction and scanning, micro/nano spectroscopy, X-ray microscopy.

Beatrice Ruta


Complex Systems & Biomedical Sciences

Dynamical studies, X-ray Photon Correlation Spectroscopy (XPCS).

Aleksey Tikhonov


Surfaces & Interfaces

X-ray reflectivity, surface diffuse scattering, GID, SAXS, soft-matter, thin films, nanoparticles, interfacial structure and phase transitions.

Helena Isern

Helena Isern.png

ESRF local liaison


The ESRF User Organisation Committee (UOC) promotes research at the ESRF by:

  • Providing a framework for discussion within the user community,
  • Organising the Annual User Meeting,
  • Awarding the ESRF Young Scientist Award on a yearly basis,
  • Collecting users' opinions on all relevant issues,
  • Providing a direct link between the users and the ESRF Management.  
user organisation logo

Anyone who has used the ESRF in the past five years is automatically a member of its user community and can contact the committee members for all relevant issues.

The User Organisation Committee, elected by the users, organises the annual User Meeting and conducts the day-to-day business of the organisation.

Further Details

* The meeting agenda and minutes of the UOC meetings are available upon request.

* The ESRF Young Scientist Award including rules for selection and attribution

* The User Organisation Charter

Former members

  • Marina Mapelli, European Institute of Oncology, Department of Experimental Oncology (Italy)
  • Michela Brunelli, Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO), DUBBLE CRG beamline, ESRF (France)
  • Oier Bikondoa, University of Warwick, Coventry (UK) and XMaS UK-CRG beamline, ESRF, Grenoble (France)
  • Marco Salluzzo, National Research Council - SPIN Institute, Napoli, Italy
  • Alejandro Fernandez Martinez, ISTerre, Université Grenoble-Alpes, Grenoble (France)
  • Sébastien Merkel, Université Lille 1, UMET, Villeneuve d'Ascq (France)
  • Roberta Angelini, National Research Council (CNR) - Institute for Complex Systems (ISC), Roma  (Italy)
  • Paola Coan, Ludwig Maximilians University, Faculty of Medicine, Dept. Clinical Radiology, München (Germany)
  • Beatrice Vallone, Università degli Studi di ROMA "La Sapienza", Dipartimento di Scienze Biochimiche "Alessandro Rossi Fanelli", Roma (Italy) 
  • Chrystele Sanloup, CNRS-UPMC, ISTeP, Institut des Sciences de la Terre de Paris (France)
  • Bridget Murphy, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, Ruprecht Haensel Laboratory, Institut für Experimentelle und Angewandte Physik (Germany)
  • Claudio Mazzoli, Brookhaven National Laboratory, NSLS II, Photon Science Division, Upton (USA)
  • Chiara Maurizio, University of Padova, Physics and Astronomy Department, Nanostructures Group (Italy)
  • Christian Kumpf,  Forschungszentrum Jülich, Functional Nanostructures at Surfaces (Germany)
  • Olivier Diat, CEA/CNRS - UMR 5257 - ICSM Marcoule, Bagnols-sur-Cèze (France)

ESRF User Organisation news

More ESRF User Organisation news