The Detectors and Electronics group is composed of three units.

The Detector Unit provides support and development capabilities in the area of X-ray detectors. It is responsible for the coordination of internal detector activities with collaborative actions linked to other facilities and laboratories.

The Instrument Pool Unit maintains a stock of detectors for loan service to the ESRF and CRG beamlines.

The Electronics Unit provides support in electronics for different instrumentation-related areas such as service to the accelerator complex and ESRF beamlines, and development and production of electronic components and systems. This structure aims to build a much stronger synergy between detector and electronics developments.