Skip to main content

ID17 Workshop

ESRF-LogoBaseline-RGB.jpg (ESRF-LogoBaseline-RGB)


Workshop on the future Science programme of the ID17 Biomedical beamline at the ESRF

5 and 6 October 2023


The workshop aims at distilling the most promising science cases in the field of biomedical research that are pertinent to the ID17 beamline and X-ray synchrotron radiation in general.


The biomedical beamline ID17, dedicated to research in biomedical imaging, radiation biology and radiation therapy, has started operation in the second half of the 1990’s.  Since then, the beamline operation has concentrated on the building up of its user community with a steady refurbishment program adapted to the community needs. Throughout almost three decades, the science program has continuously expanded and covers today a wide range of biomedical research topics. The review of the biomedical beamline ID17 and the associated Biomedical Facility (BMF) in 2022 revealed the need to refocus the ID17 science case and to build up investment capacity for a major refurbishment of the beamline. Based on the review outcome, and specifically on the recommendations of both Beamline Review Panel and Scientific Advisory Committee, the ESRF management has launched a Call for Expressions of Interest (EoIs) for the exploitation of the biomedical beamline ID17. At the deadline, six eligible EoIs were received. These shall be presented and discussed in the frame of this workshop.


Paola Coan (Ludwig Maximilian University)
Philippe Douek (Hôpital Cardio-Vasculaire et Pneumologique Louis Pradel)
Rajmund Mokso (Technical University of Denmark)
Gaetano Perchiazzi (Uppsala University)

Bert Müller (University of Basel)
Willy Kuo (University of Zurich)
Steven Proulx, (University of Bern)

Jeffrey Crosbie (Maynooth University)
Elisabeth Schültke (Rostock University Medical Center)
Valentin Djonov (University of Bern)
Susan Calvet (Veterinary Clinic, Pontcharra)
Stephanie Combs (Technical University of Munich)
Camille Verry (Grenoble University Hospital)
Michael Lerch (University of Wollongong)
Uwe Oelke (Royal Marsden Hospital)
Michael Grams (Mayo Clinic, Rochester)

Kristina Djinovic Carugo (EMBL Grenoble)
Andreas Schaefer (Francis Crick Institute)
Moritz Helmstaedter (MPI for Brain research)
Adrian Wanner (PSI)
Alvaro Crevenna (EMBL Rome)
Thomas Schneider (EMBL Hamburg)
Gergely Papp (EMBL Grenoble)
Matthew Bowler (EMBL Grenoble)


ESRF auditorium


Thursday 13:45 - Friday 11:30


Oleg Konovalov, (ESRF), Grenoble
Luce Chabert, (ESRF), Grenoble